Posted in Being Grateful

Thank You — Gratitude-16 — Ned Garver and Others

volunteer-2055010_960_720
Who needs help today? What can you contribute?

Ned Garver, a Major League Baseball pitcher from the tiny town of Ney, Ohio, which is nestled between the Northwest Ohio farm cities of Bryan and Defiance, passed away Sunday, February 26, 2017.

Ned gave back to his community. And that’s what I’m grateful for today. I’m grateful for the successful who rededicate their lives to their home towns. After his baseball retirement, Ned served his little berg as mayor, council member, and park board associate. For 14 years, he held a job at a local company.

One may jump on the Internet on any given day and read extraordinarily hateful remarks about athletes, celebrities, and others who are fodder for mainstream gossip. And that’s disgusting, coming from people who know nothing about which they speak, for the most part. This, while the facts are that many of these blessed individuals find numerous ways to return the wealth they’ve been given to steward.

Actor Matthew Broderick gave back during last Winter’s basketball season. He helped sponsor the “Never Forget Tribute Classic”, a roundball event that raised funds to benefit children victimized by the loss of their parents on 9/11, when terrorists struck New York City and killed thousands of innocent persons.

Former NFL great Fred Biletnikoff lost his daughter in a drug-related killing, after she had recovered herself and was trying to help another. What was Biletnikoff’s response? He helped found Tracey’s Place, dedicated to his daughter’s memory, and to offering a hands-on facility where persons with drug problems can recover.

These three examples speak of the specially blessed giving back monumentally to their communities, and to the people left behind by tragedy.

Acts of kindness and giving go on year round in our country, not loudly and with fanfare, but with sincerity for distributing helping hands and with dignity in serving humbly.

These are the attributes and the acts that make it worthwhile for humankind to know one another. And I’m grateful for that.

What are you grateful for today? Start a discussion here.

+++++
Credit:
Photo courtesy of http://www.pixabay.com

Author:

Since I first touched a pencil to paper, I've been writing. Where that passion has taken me as I lived life is explored in my Primary blog, "My Writing Life Xposed". I love animals, including race horses, about whom I have written much, and I've always had a dog in my life. Shouldn't animals have their say? In my Second Primary blog, "Horses and Animals Are Talkin", I give them a chance to speak. In the Composite blog "Near the Finish Line", I explore my life's journey and observations. Other interests -- poetry, sports, photography, thankfulness, story ideas, self-publishing, story art, fiction, and more -- get their due in my other (17) blogs. I'm from a rural community in Ohio, lived nine years in Vermont, then returned to my native Henry County in 1980. I've worked for various local newspapers and attended classes in writing over the years before retiring to free-lancing in 2008. It was after my migration back to Ohio that I began BAT Publishing in earnest. It is strictly a self-publishing enterprise in that I publish my own works -- novels, novelettes, short stories with my Roughcraft Art -- in my own softcover, or loose-leaf notebook, designs. My photos and artwork are also incorporated in the books. Prior to this endeavor, I produced a periodic story booklet for young writers only entitled "Connections". Its success sparked my interest in self-publishing my own titles.

Leave a Reply

